Daniel Aristi – Duet, Mumbai reverie

1-Duet

 

(Big Pine Mountain, Santa Barbara County – 30 June 1992)

after
the slumber of the stone

in June
in July
the boulder burning hot too hot for sidewinders awakes & screams back up –

Sun rages with this shrilly close-up tune in Westerns & his wrath on the anvil-stone hammers out something akin to
passion high in the Sierra
amidst the chaparrals

another draw.

 

 

2-Mumbai reverie

we make love then I dream myself older
(the corridor has adopted a circular cross-section, a bit

like a space station)” I dream myself by a concave fireplace with broken wrists and wish logs will burn some more still so I can heal

there are three monsoon-glazed wheelchairs out in the yard and no one quite knows what to read in this

I dream myself never again”
I then dream myself aground.

 

 

 

Daniel was born in Spain, he studied French Literature and Economics, and then moved overseas. He now lives in Botswana, with his wife, Reshma, and their daughter, lil’ Ria. Daniel’s work is forthcoming in Berkeley Poetry Review and Shot Glass Journal. Daniel writes whenever Ria goes to sleep.

Leave a Reply

