Thomas Zimmerman – Forget To Die

Forget to Die

R
So I forget to die each darkened fall
when leaves are yellowing and frost about
to root out greenery. My corpse hangs on,
miasma haloing my soul, or what
I call that part of me that doesn’t age,
that hasn’t decomposed, remains composed
despite the sharp vicissitudes of mood
and feeling, rippled river undertowed
with warring streams of joy and pain. I drown
there many days each year, or think I do,
but always some friend’s boathook stabs my flank
or scoops beneath my shoulder blade, around
the heart, to bring me back, a sodden wreck
that reassembles, and resembles, me.

R

R

R

R

 

Thomas Zimmerman teaches English, directs the Writing Center, and edits two literary magazines at Washtenaw Community College, in Ann Arbor, Michigan. His chapbook In Stereo: Thirteen Sonnets and Some Fire Music appeared from The Camel Saloon Books on Blog in 2012. Tom’s website: http://thomaszimmerman.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

